President Trump issued an Executive Order on January 27, 2017 that restricted the entry of certain foreign nationals into the United States.  The following are some of the key points contained in the Executive Order:

  • Seven countries are deemed to be countries of “particular concern” including Iran, Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Yemen and Somalia.  Entry into the United States by aliens from those seven countries is barred for 90 days to allow a review of vetting procedures.
  • Refugees from Syria shall not permitted entry into the United States for an indefinite period.
  • The U.S. Refugee Admission Program is suspended for 120 days.  Claims relating to religious persecution asserted by individuals whose religion is a minority religion in their country of nationality shall be given priority once the program resumes. The Refugee ban may be waived on a case by case basis.
  • The 2017 cap on the admission of Refugees into the United States is reduced from 100,000 to 50,000.
  • The Visa Interview Waiver Program is suspended indefinitely.
  • The Executive Order is silent on the issue of its application to Legal Permanent Residents (“Green Card” holders), however, it has been reported that the Administration has verbally confirmed that the Order is not applicable to those with Legal Permanent Resident status.

We will continue to monitor the implementation of this Executive Order and comment in this space as appropriate.